Problems opening a file on screen using a Mac

Dave Hobday

10 Jan, 2018 05:39 PM

When I open a file, it opens in the bottom left corner showing only the red, yellow and green buttons plus the Moneydance logo.

If I click the green button the file goes to full screen, which I do not necessarily want. In order to go to the normal screen which includes the menu bar and the dock, I have to drag the corner of the page in order to resize it.

This happens almost every time I start Moneydance.

I'm new to both Moneydance and Mac so maybe I'm missing something basic here? All I need is for the file to open automatically without having to resize the page by hand and without having to go to a full screen view by using the green button.

1. 1 Posted by sth on 11 Jan, 2018 03:20 AM

What happens if you click on the green button with the Option key held down? That should prevent full screen but go to the previous screen size or the large screen size.

The system should remember screen size between openings.

2. 2 Posted by David Hobday on 11 Jan, 2018 08:10 AM

Thanks for the tip regarding the Option key.

I have opened and closed the file a number of times now and, at first, the system failed to remember the screen size on two occasions. Since then it seems to be ok.

Hopefully the problem is now solved but I’ll continue to monitor it.

3. 3 Posted by Dave Hobday on 11 Jan, 2018 07:19 PM

I've just reopened Moneydance and the problem has occurred again. The system has not remembered the screen size between openings.

Is this a Moneydance issue or a Mac issue?

4. 4 Posted by sth on 11 Jan, 2018 08:49 PM

Hard to say. MD is supposed to remember the screen size in the preferences file. There are some settings in that preference file that should be updated every time to remember.
    "gui.winsize-mainwindow" = "1806x1173" "gui.winloc-mainwindow" = "0x23" "gui.is_maximized-mainwindow" = "n"