HiDPI Display resolution, MD not scaling and is unreadable.

deerewright

14 Sep, 2017 03:24 AM

I see there are a few posts concerning this, one from as early as 2012???? Why is this not being addressed? Most current generation laptops are HiDPI displays. MD is completely unusable in the current state on hi-res displays. If MD doesn't scale correctly, which it does not, that is a failure of the developers. In one of the posts the developer blames it on a bug with java 8. If that is so, there needs to be a work around, or preferably a move away from Java completely. Another says there is "no way" to scale moneydance. A quick google search will show many work-arounds in both Windows, and Linux to scale individual applications that do not scale automatically, so "no way" is most likely an overstatement, and does not instill much confidence in the developers of MD.

Is there any work happening on this? Any timeline for when there might be a fix?

I have been using MD for many years, and have alot of time invested in MD. I do not want to invest a bunch more time moving to another platform, but problems like this are going to drive your loyal users away.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Ian O on 14 Sep, 2017 09:04 AM

Hi,

Sorry to hear of the issues you have encountered while using Moneydance. I have raised this issue with our lead developer and explained the behaviour that our customers that are using linux system's are experiencing. We believe the visual issues that you are seeing are cause by a slightly out of date version of Java being bundled with the Linux installation package. We will be looking to release an updated installer for Moneydance containing the latest Java package, this should resolve the issues completely.

I have assigned the relevant ticket to this discussion so you will be notified via this thread once the new installer is available. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the meantime and sorry for the inconvenience.

Ian O