Export Backup or Restore from Backup not working

Frank May

09 Feb, 2017 03:36 PM

Arrgh! It appears I've lost several hours of work. I just started with MoneyDance (1597), had imported a QIF file exported form SEE Finance, and was cleaning up extensive import errors. I had set MD to Sync to Dropbox Folder and was also doing File > Export Backup periodically to checkpoint my work.

I opened MD this morning and saw that balances (and underlying transactions) had reverted to some state well before the cleaned up state they were in when I finished yesterday. I'm a newbie to the syncing process and, to eliminate potential syncing problems, switched MD back to Don't Sync thinking that it would make MD operate only on what's on my Win 10 laptop.

I then restored the last manual backup I did before closing MD yesterday and found that account balances were again in some far earlier state. It looks as tho either the manual File > Export Backup yesterday didn't save the then-current state of MD, or the File > Restore from Backup this morning didn't restore the contents of that backup.

I'd greatly appreciate any ideas on how to recover my seemingly-lost work.

1. 1 Posted by -Kevin N. on 09 Feb, 2017 06:45 PM

Hi Frank,

A couple of things...

Syncing in Moneydance is for syncing the data file between one or more computers or a hand-help device. It is not some means of creating a backup to Dropbox.

Look to see if you set up Moneydance to create automatic backups.
    Moneydance menu bar > File > Preferences > Backups tab.

Win 10 has a built in File History backup option. If you set that up, then that would be another place to look.

-Kevin N.
    (not a member of MD support)

2. 2 Posted by Frank May on 09 Feb, 2017 07:21 PM

Kevin, thanks for the reply.