Bank of America Direct Connect support

Patrick McKinley

02 Jul, 2018 10:22 PM

Hi
I'm new to MoneyDance, after a 30-year history with Quicken. I'm trying to get a MoneyDance OFX connection to Bank of America for my Visa credit card transactions. But so far I get the same error after multiple tries. I also called Bank of America and keep getting a run around there.

1. In Set Up Online Banking the list of institutions is notably missing Bank of America.
2. With some web research, I found these entries for an Advanced Setup:
○ Setup Online
§ Advanced Setup
□ Institution ORG: HAN 
□ Institution ID: 5959 
□ OFX Server URL: https://eftx.bankofamerica.com/eftxweb/access.ofx
  Unfortunately, the response was error 2000.
     There was an error communicating with your financial institution. The details of this error are below.
     Bank Name: Bank of America
     The error code reported by the server was: 2000
      Invalid username/password combination has been entered. Please try again or sign-in to bankofamerica to restore your connection from your computer.

Does anyone have a clue on what I can do to make this work? It seems to me the BofA OFX server is running, but rejecting my connection based on the username/password combo. I'm using the same credentials as what I use to login to the BofA online banking, so perhaps they use a unique credential for direct connections?

Thank You,
...Patrick

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Ian O on 03 Jul, 2018 09:04 AM

Hi Patrick,

Sorry to hear of the issue you have encountered while using Moneydance. The error you're getting would suggest that either the incorrect credentials are being used or that Direct Connect services are not active on the account.