Money Foresight

Blaze Helm

27 Mar, 2017 08:29 PM

Hi, I am relatively new to Moneydance and am evaluating it as an alternative to MS Money. One of the most valuable features of MS Money is the balance forecast tool, and I have been looking for a similar feature in Moneydance. I have been trying to evaluate Money Foresight, but I wonder if anyone is able to point me towards a set of instructions for how this tool works? I think it is connected to the "Reminder" functions, but you seem to have to add "Transaction Reminders" and I cannot see how you can add a budget amount, rather than a specific formal transaction. For example, we spend on average £500 on groceries a month, that's roughly £125 a week from various shops. But I can't find out how to get Money Foresight to predict a weekly amount of £125.... As a source of data, can it be pointed at a "Budget" in much the same way as the MS version works?

Thanks for your help!

1. 1 Posted by Kevin Stembridg... on 31 Mar, 2017 09:32 PM

Hi Blaze,

I'm the developer of Money Foresight. Sorry for not seeing this thread sooner.

Many years ago, I asked the Moneydance team for better integration between budgets and transaction reminders but I'm afraid there is still no way to connect the two.

In my opinion, budget items are a poor cousin to transaction reminders. They contain pretty much a subset of the same data but they are less specific because they don't tell you on what day these amounts will be spent nor from which account. So I don't have any budget set up in Moneydance. Instead, I have a whole lot of transaction reminders representing everything that would otherwise be in a budget and I use Money Foresight's forecast view to predict future account balances and its Reminder Review feature to tell me if I have overspent in the past.