How Security Pricing Works?

whitedavidp

11 Feb, 2018 03:38 PM

Hello. I am new to MD coming from Quicken and appreciate your help. To be honest, I am not sure how the price history mechanism works in Quicken. But I am running both Quicken and MD in parallel now and I am seeing a divergence (not huge but definitely there) between the pricing of securities between the 2 programs.

First off, I only just now installed the extension. But before this MD was getting some price history information. I could see it in the Securities panel details. One might think that these came from transaction history. But I see price records for dates in which there are no transactions for a given security. Could these have come from QIF imports out of Quicken?

I have installed the extension as described elsewhere here. I tried to get an API key but that page just gives me an error. No idea what or why. So I tried switching the extension to Google Finance since there seems to be no other option. When I run the update now, it chugs along and then at the bottom I see "Security price update complete with 149 skipped, 11 errors, and 11 quotes obtained". There are indeed 11 items on the list and checked. And I can see how some would fail as they are institutional CDs unlikely to find anything save from the broker in which they are held. But some, like GLD, are on exchanges. And I am not sure about my money market funds such as VMXX from Vanguard.

I just had Quicken check the price of GLD and as of 2/9/18 it says 124.77. Yahoo Finance says 124.74 as of the same date. Yet the latest price shown in MD is for 2/7/18 and is 124.79.

So I remain confused. Any clarification is appreciated. Thanks

1. 1 Posted by derekkent23 on 11 Feb, 2018 04:25 PM

I am not support staff, just a user.

can you confirm the build of Moneydance you are running. see under HELP - ABOUT MONEYDANCE. e.g. 217.7(1665)